SOMO Market: Food and Tchotchkes

One weekend found me in a not-so-nearby market / bazaar. It’s been so long since I went to one that when I got there, I’ve been screaming happily. *pause* Inside. Can’t be running around a public place screaming. Not at my age.

It was the usual bazaar: lots of food, some trinkets and thingamabobs, people with their pets. The area was wide and sprawling and tents helped shade us from the mid-afternoon sun. Although there was no saving us from the rocky (stony? Extremely stony? So stony it hurt?) grounds of the bazaar. But other than that, yeah. I loved the SOMO Market. There were some items that caught my eye.

The ceramic mug fashioned after the head of Apollo was so beautiful. The ceramic statue of an astronaut was aesthetically pleasing, too. My ahgase heart fluttered because I saw a GOT7 poster. All those essential oils and mint/herbal rubs were tempting. But what did I end up buying? Dog treats. Lots of dog treats. They sold them cheaply, so we bought a couple of packs. And I also had this Korean style corn dog, which was utterly delicious. No ragrets. Not even one letter. 😂

SOMO Market was delightful because the food and items vary a lot. So much to choose from and they all look so good! They had Himalayan salt lamps, essential oils, tchotchkes that bring to mind dark academia aesthetics, plants and flowers, clothes, kpop merch, plates and mugs and glasses, fruits and vegetables, and more. I know there’s a stall there selling secondhand books, but we didn’t really get to check every stall in SOMO Market. The heat and serious lack of sleep were already making me feel unwell. We had to leave without even seeing the other tents. I’m hoping to go back there when I’m more well-rested and when the time of day is cooler.

P.S. Yes, the pandemic protocols were followed. We were mindful of keeping the distance, armed with our face masks and face shields and constant use of ethyl alcohol. We were also careful not to touch anything.

And that’s it. One of the recent highlights of my new normal lifestyle. I hope your weekend is going great. Plenty of naps. Tons of food. Quality time with friends and loved ones. And some good tacos. Of course.

It must be 3:23 PM somewhere. Maybe space?

“Mostly Void, Partially Stars“ by Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor

Yes, you can speak up.